Greek Heavy Black Metal legends AGATUS released their long-awaited third album titled "The Eternalist" October 9th via Hell's Headbangers.

Rendered in warm analog tones, gritty but full of life, AGATUS' "The Eternalist" is an epic journey across the hinterlands of the imagination. In many ways, it follows the heavy metalled direction of 2002's celebrated "The Weaving Fates" but incorporates the proggier textures of 2012's "Gilgamesh" EP, thus ushering in a new era for the duo that's respectful of the past but sets its sights on the future - and the unknown.

Founder The Dark states: " "The Eternalist" reflects another dimension of my compositional style whilst maintaining the signature sounds that AGATUS are known for. Here I delve further into old heavy metal sounds that have always been an inspiration to me and created what I consider my most memorable album to date."

Kaleidoscopic in its vision, with "The Eternalist", AGATUS set a clear course toward older sounds and atmospheres: a golden ratio combining the feel of NWOBHM with '70s rock and everything that you have come to know and anticipate of these two brother musicians over the years. Vorskaath adds: "We decided to take an old-style hard rock/heavy metal approach that is manifest on every aspect of the album, from the performances and recording to the sounds we chose and the way we mixed. From the very first notes of "The Eternalist", that feel is unmistakably there."

AGATUS will reclaim the momentum achieved during the early 2000s and venture forward into previously untouched realms of glory.

Order "The Eternalist" here


Download the album on iTunes

Formed in 1991, AGATUS belong to the first wave of black metal bands to emerge from Greece and consists of The Dark and Vorskaath - brothers and founding members. Their first album, 1994's "Dawn of Martyrdom", commanded a cult following as a milestone in Greek black metal, and their followup, "The Weaving Fates", received critical acclaim for the musicality and individual sound of the band, which has remained largely a side-project.

The Dark and Vorskaath are also known for their collaboration with artists such as ZEMIAL, Varathron, Absu, Alpha Centauri, Kawir, Equimanthorn, Raven Black Night, Stone Cold Dead, Mark Riddick's Fetid Zombie, and many others.

"The Eternalist" album cover:

  1. The Eternalist
  1. The Invisible (Fifth Portal to Atlantis)
  2. The Oath (of Magic and Fire)
  3. Gods of Fire
  4. Dreamer
  5. Perils of the Sea (Part II)
  6. At Dusk I Was Born
  7. Flight into Forever
  8. Gilgamesh
  9. To Last
agatus album