crimson moon

Today, long-running black metal cult CRIMSON MOON premiere the new track "Urilian Worm". The track hails from the band's highly anticipated third album "Oneironaut", set for international release on December 6th via W.T.C. Productions. Hear CRIMSON MOON's "Urilian Worm" below.

CRIMSON MOON was established in 1994 by Scorpios Androctonus - known also for his work with Acherontas, Zemial, Demoncy, Melechesh, and Akrabu among others - as a solo project in the U.S. and relocated to Germany in 1998. After working with different members throughout the years, 2016 reveals the long-awaited third full-length release titled "Oneironaut". Four years in the making, this album has returned to the roots of the lineup and was written, performed, and recorded once again entirely by Scorpios Androctonus with additional guest appearances by members of Acherontas, Demoncy, and Ralph Santolla (ex-Deicide, Death, Obituary) on select tracks.

The aura of "Oneironaut" is a familiar one to previous CRIMSON MOON releases in the spirit and atmosphere, both musically and lyrically. A definite progression is also introduced in song structure and strategic use of additional instruments, including exotic instruments such as the Esraj, Frame Drums, Tanpura, Cretan Lyra, fretless acoustic bass, and innovative uses of acoustic guitars among other stringed instruments and percussion. The music of Oneironaut executes a blend of mystical, dream-like atmospheres which morph from violent and aggressive black metal synonymous with the occult atmosphere. Lyrically, the topics vary from traditional Necronomicon-inspired myths, Sumerian lore, astral projection, and lucid dreaming to content that covers homage to the old goddesses of worship, survival of the fittest/breaking the myths of equality, and spiritual transcendence.

As of 2016, CRIMSON MOON has established a new and potent full lineup which will debut its first live appearance this month, which will be the first live performance from CRIMSON MOON in nearly a decade, and the first time to perform live on European soil. More select live shows will follow and are being booked for the remainder of the year and 2017.

The new CRIMSON MOON lineup consists of:

  • Scorpios Androctonus: bass and vocals
  • Sabnoc: guitars and backing vocals
  • Vual: drums and percussion
  • Agreas: guitars

With the new lineup, work is currently being put into new material for an upcoming split release that will be announced by the end of 2016, which will forebode much more to come in 2017.

"Oneironaut" track listing:

  1. Gossamer of Arachne
  1. Molding of a Spell
  2. Seeker of the 7th Gate
  3. Weaver of the Web
  4. Urilian Worm
  5. Oneironaut
crimson moon album