Today, Hells Headbangers sets February 17th, 2017 as the international release date for HAXXAN's highly anticipated debut album, "Loch Ness Rising". Although "new" in name, HAXXAN features underground legend Killjoy DeSade (Necrophagia, The Ravenous, Wurdulak, et. al.) on vocals and synth. Formed in 2011 by Killjoy and guitarist Shawn Slusarek, the duo decided to write material that had an old-school black metal vibe, citing such influences as Beherit, Archgoat, and Blasphemy with hints of Candlemass and Mercyful Fate. The duo then added bassist Jake Arnette and drummer Serge Streltsov, and soon recorded their debut album, "Loch Ness Rising".

Spread over 10 tracks, HAXXAN's "Loch Ness Rising" is conceptually based on Aleister Crowley, as Killjoy has been a life-long Crowley enthusiast. As a full-band unit, HAXXAN soon celebrate the life, works, and magick of Crowley through patiently unfolding vistas of doom and dread, eerieness and unease. Recorded at Thelema Studios and mixed/mastered by Grzegorz Kulawiak at Sin Mix Studios, "Loch Ness Rising" richly resonates with a pure (and purely eerie/uneasy) tone that lends these songs a unique character: undoubtedly heavy in a manner not unlike To Mega Therion-era Celtic Frost, there's likewise a ghostly aspect to its conversely crushing stomp. As expected, Killjoy delivers a peerless performance, stretching all extremes of his twisted 'n' tortured throat, almost narrating the slowly enveloping fog of unearthly horror. Taken together, "Loch Ness Rising" is an experience both atmospheric and caustic, bleeding black blood and drinking it from a ceremonial cup - just as Crowley would've wanted it.

As longtime fans of Killjoy's incredibly prolific work in the metal underground for the past 30 years, Hells Headbangers warmly welcomes HAXXAN to the label, and will be working with Killjoy on a special reissue of Necrophagia's classic debut album, 1987's "Season of the Dead". A statement from Killjoy reads: "HAXXAN are extremely pleased to be a part of the Hells Headbangers family. We feel as if this was the only real home for our visions and sounds. Do what thou will shall be the law!"

The first track to be revealed from HAXXAN's "Loch Ness Rising" is "The Blackest Chasm" which can be heard at Hells Headbangers' Bandcamp HERE , where the album can also be preordered.

"Loch Ness Rising" track listing:

  1. Loch Ness Rising
  1. 93
  2. A∴A∴ (Arcanum Arcanorum)
  3. Babalon
  4. Aiwass
  5. Disciples of the Silent
  6. Chemical Perversions
  7. The Blackest Chasm
  8. Beyond the Grace of God
  9. The Aethyr
haxxan album