The official video for "The Wilde Flowers", a brand new track from Swedish progressive metallers OPETH, can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's highly anticipated twelfth studio album, "Sorceress", which is scheduled for release on September 30 via Nuclear Blast.

Speaking with Metal Hammer, OPETH vocalist Mikael Åkerfeldt said about "The Wilde Flowers": "This was the first song I wrote for this album. It's kind of an OPETH standard, in a way, like from the last two albums. It's very dynamic. It has a chorus, I guess. Then there's a big QUEEN-sounding bit in the middle just before this massive solo… oh, and harps! They're hidden in the mix but they're there. The title comes from the band CARAVAN – they were originally called WILDE FLOWERS. I always liked those weird spellings."

The band's first effort for Nuclear Blast via OPETH's imprint label Moderbolaget Records is proof chief architect Mikael Åkerfeldt has a near-endless well of greatness inside. From the album's opener "Persephone" to "The Wilde Flowers" and "Strange Brew" to the album's counterpart title tracks "Sorceress" and "Sorceress 2", OPETH's new full-length is an unparalleled adventure, where visions cleverly and secretly change, colors mute as if weathered by time, and sounds challenge profoundly.

For "Sorceress", OPETH returned to Rockfield Studios in Wales, also home to pivotal releases from QUEEN, RUSH and JUDAS PRIEST, where the Swedes had tracked "Pale Communion" in 2014 with Tom Dalgety. The band spent twelve days recording at the countryside venue among its serene and inspiring surroundings. The result is nothing short of a powerful and intriguing record that will add yet another layer to the band's celebrated career.

Opeth single

"Sorceress" track listing:

  1. Persephone
  1. Sorceress
  2. The Wilde Flowers
  3. Will O The Wisp
  4. Chrysalis
  5. Sorceress 2
  6. The Seventh Sojourn
  7. Strange Brew
  8. A Fleeting Glance
  9. Era
  10. Persephone (Slight Return)
Opeth album