phil anselmo

Horror movie icon Bill Moseley (Otis in Rob Zombie's "House Of 1000 Corpses" and "Devil's Rejects", and Chop Top in "Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2") recently joined forces with extreme music legend Phil Anselmo (DOWN, PANTERA, SUPERJOINT, SCOUR, PHILIP H. ANSELMO & THE ILLEGALS, ARSON ANTHEM) for a very special collaborative release titled "Songs Of Darkness And Despair", due on January 20, 2017 via Anselmo's own Housecore Records

The five-track offering was produced and performed by Anselmo and Stephen "The Big Fella" Berrigan (DOWN, SYK, PHILIP H. ANSELMO & THE ILLEGALS, EYEHATEGOD, HAARP, CLASSHOLE), and mastered by Scott Hull of Visceral Sound. "Songs Of Darkness And Despair" includes guest appearances by Kevin Bond (SUPERJOINT) on guitar, Squizzy Squires (KING PARROT) on bass and guitar, and José "Blue" Gonzalez (SUPERJOINT, WARBEAST, PHILIP H. ANSELMO & THE ILLEGALS) on percussion.

Bill Moseley has taken a long and unusual road to cult stardom, firmly cementing his place in the annals of horror history along the way. Having released his "Spider Mountain" record, and collaborated with Buckethead on their CORNBUGS project, Moseley expands his musical endeavors by teaming up with Anselmo. BILL & PHIL's "Songs Of Darkness And Despair" is a brilliant trip that will give everyone a thrill.

Phil Anselmo: "Working with Mr. Moseley was an awesome experience! Bill brought the lyrics and Stephen (Berrigan) and I just improvised directly on the spot, and squeezed out six tunes in three days. All the songs have a different vibe because I wanted the music to represent Bill's lyrical vision(s), and we needed to, because Bill does indeed have a unique, visual element within his choice of words and phrasing. I love Bill Moseley, and can't wait to work on the next one! Be cool and enjoy this one!"

BILL & PHIL's "Songs Of Darkness And Despair" preorder bundles (including limited-edition air fresheners and face masks) are available at the Housecore store.

Check out an interview with Bill Moseley and Pil Anselmo, courtesy of Little Punk People, below.

"Songs Of Darkness And Despair" track listing:

  1. Dirty Eye
  1. Corpus Crispy
  2. Catastrophic
  3. Widder Woman
  4. Tonight's The Night We Die
  5. Bad Donu
bill&phil album