Watch KORPIKLAANI lyric video for "Kuin Korpi Nukkuva"

VOCIFERATION korpiklaani 2018.jpg

Finnish Folk Metal band KORPIKLAANI have released a lyric video for their song "Kuin Korpi Nukkuva" from their latest album, "Kulkija" (Wanderer), out now via Nuclear Blast. Watch the video below.

Vocalist Jonne Järvelä comments on the video: "For some reason, while recording the first demo of this song, I kept hearing it as a traditional tango. I haven't been able to drop that thought and while playing this live I still hear the tango and drag behind the beat like Topi Sorsakoski. I wanted to leave a trace of that original form and therefore there is a bit of tango in the end of the song. So the tango is not a joke even if it may sound that way. Of course, it is also possible that there is a tongue or even two in cheek, but that was the case with Sorsakoski too. In a certain way, this is a nice and light song, but still also strong and even a little sad. Tuomas Keskimäki's lyrics are in line with that. The basic message of the lyrics is the importance of living in the moment, which is also one the fine features of KORPIKLAANI. This band has always been able seize the moment and enjoy life right there and then."

"Kulkija" ("Wanderer") was released on September 7 via Nuclear Blast. With 14 tracks and a total running time of over 71 minutes, the disc is the group's longest album to date. Working with producer Janne Saksa for the first time, the album was recorded at Petrax Studio(Hollola, Finland) and mixed at Sound Supreme Studios (Hämeenlinna, Finland). Mastering duties were handled by renowned engineer Svante Forsbäck (RAMMSTEIN). The cover was designed by Jan Yrlund (BATTLE BEASTMANOWAR), who has already created several artworks for previous releases by the band..

"Kulkija" track listing:

  1. Neito

  2. Korpikuusen kyynel

  3. Aallon alla

  4. Harmaja

  5. Kotikonnut

  6. Korppikalliota

  7. Kallon malja

  8. Sillanrakentaja

  9. Henkselipoika

  10. Pellervoinen

  11. Riemu

  12. Kuin korpi nukkuva

  13. Juomamaa

  14. Tuttu on tie



Jonne Järvelä -Vocals, GUITARS
Cane - Guitars
Jarkko Aaltonen - Bass
Tuomas Rounakari - Violin
Sami Perttula - Accordion

Matson - Drums