AMORPHIS release "Amonst Stars" video and new album

VOCIFERATION amorphis18.jpg

Finnish Progressive Metal veterans AMORPHIS released a video clip for "Amonst Stars", from their new album "Queen Of Time". The album is out now via Nuclear Blast. Watch "Amongst Stars" below.


The follow-up to 2015's "Under The Red Cloud" includes the use of real strings, flutes, orchestral arrangements and even choirs. In addition, this is the first time that people are able to hear their lyricist Pekka Kainulainen on the album as he contributes a speech in Finnish.

"Queen Of Time" was once again produced by Jens Bogren (OPETHAMON AMARTHKREATOR), who is well known for challenging and motivating artists during the recording process. He isn't afraid to push them to their limits.

The "Queen Of Time" cover artwork, which was created once again by French artist Jean "Valnoir" Simoulin from Metastazis, captures the feeling of the lyrics and the music. With Pekka Kainulainen's (lyricist) words, the lyrical theme is universal: "Cultures rise, flourish, and are destroyed. The story of man is the story of searching, finding, and forgetting. A single spark can set the world afire, a single idea can give birth to a new culture. The greatest can stagnate into insignificance, the smallest can hold the power for change. The lyrics on this album are distant echoes of ancient forest peoples, from a time when meaning was proportioned by the cosmic forces that govern birth and death. If the connection was lost, they sought for a strand of knowledge, found a new direction, and a new age began."

"Queen Of Time" is also the first AMORPHIS album to feature the band's old/new bass player Olli-Pekka "Oppu" Laine following the departure of Niclas Etelävuori in 2017. Oppu was one of the founding members of AMORPHIS in 1990 and recorded the first seven records with the band before he exited the group in spring 2000.

"To be honest, 'Oppu' was the only guy we could imagine being in AMORPHIS," says Esa. "It was funny — when we started to play our first shows together again last summer, it all felt so familiar. He was involved with arranging songs and he also even brought some new songs to the table… really good ones, too!" Oppu adds: "Even though the last year with AMORPHIS has been exciting, nostalgic and fun, it's also been truly comfortable to be with the guys again. As a clichéd expression, it's been like returning home from a lengthy odyssey. After 18 years, it feels like we are picking up where we left off from the good ol' days! I'm really looking forward for the upcoming tour. The new album itself is a really strong package, the only hard thing will be picking which songs to play live! It's safe to say we are set to pull off some killer shows over the next few years. After that, I'm predicting a long and fruitful career for the band in its current form..."

"Queen Of Time" track listing:

  1. The Bee
  2. Message in the Amber 
  3. Daughter of Hate 
  4. The Golden Oak 
  5. Wrong Direction 
  6. Heart of the Giant 
  7. We Accursed 
  8. Grain of Sand 
  9. Amongst Stars 
  10. Pyres on the Coast
  11. As Mountains Crumble (digi, 2LP, and mail-order edition only)
  12. Brother And Sister (digi, 2LP, and mail-order edition only)

AMORPHIS lineup:

Tomi Joutsen - Vocals
Esa Holopainen - Guitars
Tomi Koivusaari - Guitars
Olli-Pekka Laine - Bass
Santeri Kallio - Keyboards
Jan Rechberger - Drums, Keyboards